Not all those who wander are lost

I was 7 or may be when I realized that everything has an end. It was after knotty died. I cried my eyes out coz’ knotty was dear to me. Knotty was a black cocker spaniel and my family dog whom I adored. I grew up playing with her, climbing on her back, and kissing her while she licked me back. I would always be thankful to god for sending me to an animal lover family, indeed that made me an avid animal lover as well as throughout my life I have been able to maintain and understand the dignity of every souls that exist around us.

Coming back to the point, it was back then I realized that everything that is born has an end. Later on when I got two gold fishes (tiny and sally) even they left me after some 8 months of being besides my bed. I loved seeing them swim. As I grew up, I became more and more aware about my time. Time was indeed running out and when I looked at myself I felt I was wasting it all. I had to make my life worthwhile. I started writing poetry when I was 10 and at the age of 12, my poetry was selected at third position in “London poetry competition”. That time I was a child and I had very less things to worry about and at the same time poetry helped me to express myself in a beautiful way which I could not have done otherwise. It all came naturally. I never took the professional training in writing but I started scribbling my thoughts and that gave me solace.

Later on when I grew up, I was surrounded by different problems and worries like every other teenage girl. I made many wrong decisions and during that time writing acted as a coping mechanism. Things I could not share with anyone or things I wanted to speak out loud were on the paper. I made stories inspired from real life incidents. I am still struggling with my writings and I am not the best but with every story I write, I try and improve. While writing my stories I have to think hard about what the actual situation was and I made all the efforts to keep the story as original as possible. This is how I started writing books. I have grown up reading Sidney Sheldon and hardy boys, Later on Jeffery Archer and Donna Tart were on my shelves. Slowly and gradually I shifted to Paulo Coelho and he is the only author whose book touched my soul from within. I almost cried while reading “Veronica Decides to Die”. A lot of my writing style is like him. Shirley Jackson has been my role model since past 4 years. Like her, my tales are morbid and filled with pain.

WordPress was one of the best things that ever happened to me. I met so many authors here and some of them write amazing. I learn from every blog I read. I made friend here and some of them turned out to be my best friends wherein our friendship extended outside WordPress. Zee, Charly, Richard, LAuran, Ken Powell, Jason, Rob, John, Autumn, and Cecilia to name a few. I have spoken to them, laughed with them and in the end created wonderful stories with them.

When I started writing for “Chords of Life”, I never thought I would publish it. The trend of short stories is somewhat decreasing but still I write coz’ all these were the true tales of people I have met. Sharing stories and penning down real life incidences stretched my happiness beyond what I could have done it otherwise.

When I was small, my favorite place in the world was CROSSWORD, the largest book store chain of India. The scent of fresh paper and ink, the sound of swapping the book pages, the sight of shelves stacked with amazing books in front of me was like a heaven for me. For me, happiness was the smell of new book and I sat and read books for hours. There have been times when I have been so much involved in reading that I actually fell in love with a fictional character. I did fall in love with “Werner – the German boy” while reading “All the light we cannot see”. For me books are uniquely portable magic.

Today, when I see my own book on their shelves trust me it gives me a kind of feeling I cannot express. I still have a long way to go but this little achievement has been so special that I almost cried. I had nostalgia for like 1 minute standing in front of that shelf. I was alone standing there looking at my book with no one to share that moment but still it was wonderful. I picked a copy from the shelf and sat at the same place where I always did as a child. This time I was scanning through the pages of my own book.

Prosperity

crossword
That book in top right corner – “Chords of Life” by Kruti Mehta

If you all would like to have a copy of my book, it is available on AMAZON

38 thoughts on “Not all those who wander are lost

  1. I totally understand where you come from! Seeing your own book inside your famous shop next to authors you admire is an amazing dream come true and a feeling far from any description! And it motivates to dream even bigger, right? 😀

  2. Very impressive! I searched “Kruti Metha” on the Amazon search and there is a page about you and your books. I will order them as soon as I have the money. Very exciting reading about someone I “know,” sort of. 🙂

      1. I haven’t finished the song yet. It’s all acoustic guitar right now, and somewhat melancholy. I’ve changed some of the words to fit the rhythm of the chord changes, but most of your words remain intact.

  3. Great to see a dream come true for you Kruti my very dear friend. I am glad I was able to be a small part of making that dream come true for you. Best wishes for the success of your latest book! 🙂

  4. Hey Kruti, i was introduced to your blog and writings by Zee (http://lifeconfusions.wordpress.com/), you write beautifully and gudluck with your book, coincidentally the last poem i posted on my blog (do visit) is also entitled “Guitar”. plus im also into social media marketing and one day exactly a year ago i thought i make so many blogs for other people why dont i make one for myself so my blogging journey started…. keep sharing your thoughts and writings with us all ….. nice to meet you 🙂

Leave a Reply

