Heritage and Dance – welcome to Gujarat

Modhera Dance Festival is a dance festival held at Modhera in Mehsana district Gujarat during the third week of January every year, after the festival of Uttarayan for three days in the backdrop of the Sun Temple, Modhera. The objective is to present classical dance forms in an atmosphere they were originally presented in.

Information courtesy : http://www.wikipedia.org

Photography: Sandeep Damre (Studio 60)

Girls gracefully dancing in the temple
The most beautiful thing about the whole dance is their expression....The way they depict the story with those beautiful expressions is beyond imagination.
6 thoughts on “Heritage and Dance – welcome to Gujarat

  1. The body language and the facial expressions are far more dramatic than the costumes and the makeup and the hair arrangements! You are so correct about these expressions. Wonderful of you to share such great pictures of this special time of dance in your tradition.

  2. I was in Gujarat this time last year, stayed for several months (in Ahmedabad). Feels just like yesterday. Learnt a bit of the language and a few dance moves too (very few indeed, lol!) I liked Holi very much, I think it’s almost time for that again… I find Indian festivals really interesting.

      1. I promised my friends I’d be back any time one of them was getting married. We agreed they’d tell me 6 months in advance so I can prepare. I haven’t heard any wedding bells yet so it looks like it’ll be some time before I return ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I made some good friends there and would sure love to return some day… plus I still want to see the Adalaj ni Vav and do the night heritage walk through the old city in Ahmedabad

Leave a Reply

